World Championships: Team Sunweb win women’s team time trial

Team Sunweb took the first title of the 2017 UCI Road World Championships in Bergen with victory in the women’s team time trial, beating big rivals and 2016 winners Boels Dolmans by 12 seconds.

The six riders rode a well-paced race, tackling the steep climb after 30km at a careful tempo to avoid blowing apart the team. They went on to finish with four riders, stopping the clock on 55:41 at the end of the 42.5km course.

Boels Dolmans started last but struggled to match Team Sunweb and finished 12 seconds slower in central Bergen. The Cervelo-Bigla team took the bronze medal, finishing 28 seconds slower.

Canyon-SRAM were fourth at 1:04, with Team Virtu fifth at 2:51. The Danish team lost world time trial champion Amber Neben early in the race after she dropped her chain.

“None of us really expected this – we were going for the podium,” said Sunweb’s Ellen van Dijk.

“We had a really smooth race. When we finished we just thought it was a great ride and were just happy anyway. So when we saw we were so close to Boels, we couldn’t believe it. And then we beat them – it’s still a little surreal.

“It was so important not to overpace it on the climbs, because then you blow up the whole team. That was our strength today, and we used each other’s strengths in a really good way. It was incredible to win like that.”

More to follow


# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Team Sunweb 0:55:41
Lucinda Brand (Ned)
Leah Kirchmann (Can)
Floortje Mackaij (Ned)
Coryn Rivera (USA)
Sabrina Stultiens (Ned)
Ellen van Dijk (Ned)
2 Boels Dolmans Cycling Team 0:00:12
Chantal Blaak (Ned)
Karl-Ann Canuel (Can)
Megan Guarnier (USA)
Christine Majerus (Lux)
Amy Pieters (Ned)
Anna van der Breggen (Ned)
3 Cervelo Bigla Pro Cycling Team 0:00:28
Stephanie Gaumnitz (Ger)
Lisa Klein (Ger)
Lotta Lepistö (Fin)
Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio (RSA)
Clara Koppenburg (Ger)
Cecille Uttrup Ludwig (Den)
4 Canyon-SRAM Racing 0:01:05
Hannah Barnes (GBr)
Lisa Brennauer (Ger)
Elina Cecchini (Ita)
Mieke Kroger (Ger)
Alexis Ryan (USA)
Trixi Worrack (Ger)
5 Team Virtu Cycling Women 0:02:52
Claudia Koster (Ned)
Christina Siggaard (Den)
Pernille Mathiesen (Den)
Amber Neben (USA)
Sara Penton (Swe)
Linda Villumsen (Den)
6 FDJ Nouvelle Aquitaine Futuroscope 0:03:23
Aude Biannic (Fra)
Coralie Demay (Fra)
Eugenie Duval (Fra)
Roxane Fournier (Fra)
Shara Gallow (Aus)
Roxange Knetemann (Ned)
7 BTC City Ljubljana 0:03:47
Polona Batagelj (Slo)
Eugenia Bujak (Pol)
Corinna Lechner (Ger)
Maaike Boogaard (Ned)
Hanna Nilsson (Swe)
Ursa Pintar (Slo)
8 BePink Cogeas 0:04:07
Alison Jackson (Can)
Francesca Pattaro (Ita)
Katia Ragusa (Ned)
Ilaria Sanguineti (Ita)
Silvia Valsecchi (Ita)
Olga Zabelinskaya (Rus)
9 Hitec Products 0:04:59
Charlotte Becker (Ger)
Miriam Bjornsrud (Nor)
Simona Frapporti (Ita)
Cecille Gotaas Johnsen (Nor)
Nina Kessler (Ned)
Thea Thorsen (Nor)



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s