A Little Bit More About Me

After running my whole life, I completed the Berlin Marathon in 1998, while stationed in Germany, with the US Army. The following year, I completed my first triathlon, but due to unforeseen circumstances, I took a 10-year break from racing and training. In 2008, I bought a bike, and between 2009 and 2010, I did a total of four duathlons and two full marathons. I enjoyed duathlons, but wanted something more. I knew that would mean some serious work on my swim. In 2011, after many hours in the pool, I did my first Olympic distance triathlon and my first half distance triathlon. Since then, I’ve completed 14 more half distance triathlons, two full distance triathlons, and full and half marathons.

My certifications include: Ironman Certified Coach, USA Swim Coach, YMCA Level II Swim Official, and United States Army Master Fitness Instructor. I have coached YMCA track, cross country, and swimming. In Baumholder, Germany, I was the Baumholder Community Army Track Coach, and I coach triathlon and cycling. I have finished over 50 triathlons of all distances, 5 marathons, 30 half marathons, 10 duathlons, 2 aquabikes, numerous 5km and 10km races, in addition to cycling only events. I have had numerous podium finishes in my age group triathlons. In 1999, I was State of Oklahoma Running Road Race Champion for my age group, and finished in the top 25% in the nation for my age group in USA Triathlon rankings, for the last 5 years. I’ve finished in the top 10 in the Ohio Cycling Time Trial Championships twice, and a National Championship qualifier for USA Triathlon National Championships, and in the top 10% of my Master Fitness Instructor Class.

I coached an athlete to win the Ohio State Cycling Time Trial, in both 2016 and 2017. Several of my swimmers went on to qualify for YMCA Zone Regionals and Nationals, also qualifying for USA Swim Junior Olympics. I have had the privilege of coaching athletes to finish their first triathlons, marathons, half marathons, open water swims, 5km and 10km runs. I have also helped seasoned athletes improve their performance during their events.

I retired from active duty in 2012 and graduated in 2016 from Bowling Green State University, with a Bachelor of Science in Sport Management. I reside in NW Ohio with my wife and son.

12 thoughts on “A Little Bit More About Me

    1. Thank you, I enjoy racing with my youngest son. He is getting faster every year, I am sure he will be faster than me. My oldest son is into MMA, not my cup of tea, but I support him and his training and fights.

      Like

  1. What an incredible life you’ve lived 🙂
    You have such discipline and love of sport.
    It makes me jealous that I can no longer be as physically active as I’d like.
    I wish you continued personal success and hope the athletes you work with recognize how fortunate they are to have such a committed coach 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you very much, as I get older I see how lucky I have been. I do everything I can to teach as I coach so my athletes can pass it on as well. Working with the fast lane on the summer swim team this year, I would stop them at the end of the lane and tell them why we did each set and the purpose behind each drill.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

