Blue Streak Time Trial #3 Race Report – 14 June 2016

When I woke up on the 14th of June, I knew it was going to be a long day. The day started off like any other day, up at 5am and headed to the gym by 6am. After an hour workout it was time to get Logan to swim practice; I am now lifeguarding during the swim team practice, so I get to stand around and watch them swim. After swim practice the day would be a bit different than most.

Back at home we would eat breakfast and then grab our checklist and get everything packed up for an evening bike race. Logan and I had plans to go down to Wright-Patterson Air Base for the Blue Streak Time Trial. He had been signed up for the previous races, but was not able to make it, so this would be his first. We loaded everything into my Ford Focus, including our two bikes. Yes, two bikes were stuffed in the back seat and our wheels and bags were in the trunk. Once the two of us got in the car, it was at full capacity!

We left around 2pm for the 2 ½ hour drive to the air base. Logan slept most of the way. He had a bad headache for most of the day and I wouldn’t have been surprised if he had decided not to go. I almost would’ve been happy if he had decided not to go, so I could get in a good training ride. We got a little lost finding the correct gate when we got there, but we were parked and standing in line to get our bib numbers at 5pm.

I was to start at 6:18:30 and Logan was 30 seconds behind me. Since we had over an hour until we started, we got our bikes put together and chatted with the rider in the truck parked next to us. We both took a quick spin up the road to get our legs loosened up and I wanted to show Logan the only real turn in the course. The quick course preview showed that it was the same as before, flat and fast.

The course follows along the main road up to the first turn on the left and then follows the road as it bends to the left around the airfield. About 5 ½ miles out is a 180 degree turn around and then the course heads back the same way for about 4 ½ miles, until you cross the finish line. There is only 34 feet of elevation over the 10-mile course, according to my Garmin.

I wanted to finish faster than I had in April, when my time was 25:03. I was off at 6:18:30 and kept my head down for the first mile as I worked up to get the pace faster and faster. I was trying not to bury myself too much in the first couple of miles. I kept shifting to a lower gear in the back until I was down to the smallest gear I could get on the back. It was warm and I had sweat rolling down my face and I really wanted a drink of water. I didn’t take a water bottle on my bike and only took a quick sip from Logan’s bottle before the start. I fought to push harder on the pedals because I just wanted to finish so I could get a drink. I averaged 25.2 mph for the first 5 miles and 25.1 mph for the second 5 miles. I was super happy when I looked up and saw the finish timer flashing and knew I was under 24 minutes. My finish time was 23:46.8 for an average of 25.2 mpg, which was 1 minute and 9 seconds faster than my April time. I placed 3rd out of 10 in my age bracket, and 21st out of 113 riders.

Logan did well, even better than I expected. He averaged 20.3 mph for a finish time of 29:30.3. He won his age group and was 25th in the road bike non-aero bar division, and he place 94th overall out of 113 riders. It was a nice outing for him, especially since he has mostly been swimming and not riding or running as much as he normally would be before a race. It’s a positive start to his cycling and triathlon season, and I’m looking forward to seeing what he does when he gets serious about training.

blue streak race #3.png

Leave a Reply

