It’s 30 Days Out From Toughman Indiana

It’s 30 days out from Toughman Indiana, and this is the hardest part of training for me and a lot of other athletes. It is the time when I get up for a run and start wondering if I have gotten enough runs in, ridden my bike enough, been in the water enough or done enough strength training. This is the time, as an athlete, when you have to dig in and focus mentally, and not undo all the hours of training you have logged. Bad decisions, at this point, can cause injury and setbacks. It is a time to work on your mental game as well as your physical game.

I like to go back into my log from the previous year and see where I was at then, compared to where I am now. This is one of the reasons why I previously wrote about logging your training. It gives you a chance to go back and confirm your current training and reinforce that you are on track. In the last five years I have finished 12 half ironman and 2 full ironman distance races, which provides me with a lot of data to look back on. It allows me to go back and see that so far this year, I have logged more running miles, biked more miles, swam more, and completed more strength training than last year, and more than I had in the years before. It also allows me to confirm that my miles on the bike and run are faster than they have been in previous years, at this time of year. This gives me a chance to confirm that my training is on track, which does away with my self-doubt.

When it is less than 30 days until the “A” race it is easy to lose focus and stir up self-doubt. Please remember that you or your coach built the plan, and to trust the plan.

2 thoughts on “It’s 30 Days Out From Toughman Indiana

Leave a Reply

