Purpose

Purpose [pur-puh s] /ˈpɜr pəs/

noun

  1. the reason for which something exists or is done, made, used, etc.
  2. an intended or desired result; end; aim; goal
  3.  determination; resoluteness.
  4.  the subject in hand; the point at issue

If you are anything like me, you do better at training, weight loss, studying, or whatever the task at hand is, when there is a purpose. When I have a class in school that I have to pass, I work ready hard to get a passing grade on the test, but if the class is just something I am taking, I find myself not really putting forth much effort. When I have races or events on the calendar I am really good about getting to the gym or outside to log some good training miles. I can’t see ever not going to the gym or logging miles, but having purpose definitely brings me to a different level.

If you are anything like me, sit down and sign up for that event now. Set a goal or commit to a specific event, and give yourself a purpose for the training, studying, weight loss, or whatever you want to achieve. I talked about goal setting in the past: set a goal or sign up for an event that is achievable and/or realistic and give yourself a purpose.

 

2 thoughts on “Purpose

Leave a Reply

