Consistency Is Key To Success

Consistency is the name of the game when it comes to endurance sports, health, and fitness. I have written about planning, goal making, logging, and different exercises, but the most important thing is to be consistent. You can have the best goals, plans, and have all your meals planned out, but if you are not consistent you will have nothing to show for it.

I have found that the easiest way to be consistent is to have your days planned out. For me, this means scheduling my workouts in addition to when and what I’m going to eat. For some people this is easier than others. My upbringing and military background make this second nature to me, but it was a struggle to get my wife on board with this. When we started getting up at 5am to be at the gym at 6, it was rough. We are both so conditioned to it now that we have no trouble getting up and getting ready.

Our routine of going to the gym at the same time every morning helps us both to stick to a routine when it comes to our nutrition. We are at the gym from 6-8 most mornings, so I always eat two bananas beforehand, and we both eat breakfast as soon as we return home. I also swim before lunch most days, so I eat the same snacks at the same time, as well. When it comes to nutrition, we both find it helpful to eat the same thing or something similar for breakfast, snacks and lunch, while having variety at dinner. And taking that a step further, my wife is happiest when she has her meals planned a week at a time. As a naturally disorganized person, this is an impressive feat. It proves that anyone can build healthy habits and routines.

The same goes for my afternoon workouts. Even though what I do during my workouts changes, I stick to a time of day and length that my body knows. This helps everything else fall into place and makes family life run more smoothly. When we all know what we’re doing and when, there is less stress all around.

One thought on “Consistency Is Key To Success

Leave a Reply

