Was it a good or bad training day, week, month or year?

Have you ever asked yourself what makes the prefect training day, week, month, or year? I was on the bike trainer in the basement and was having some issues focusing. I was pushing harder than planned and the cadence was too high at the same time. The power output was 10 percent higher than it was supposed to be and my cadence was 5 to 10 rpm faster than the plan called for. Then it happened, 30 minutes in and I knew I was not going to last as long as I was supposed to. I was going to have to stop the workout before the intended time was achieved. In the end, I averaged more power than I was supposed to.

Now this is when I paused to consider, did I have a good training session or was it a bad training session. I asked myself, did I accomplish a good thing or bad thing. I will be able to train tomorrow, but in the past I have gone too hard and it cost me the next day training. How many times have you as an athlete gone too hard on a day that it cost you the next day training? Have you ever gone too hard for an entire week and had to take an extra week of recovery week? Worse yet, how many of us have spent an entire month overtraining to the point where we got sick or injured and had to take 4 to 6 week off or more?

So, the question is: what do you call a good training day, week, month or year?

  1. A day, week, month or year of training in which you achieve higher mileage, effort, or stress than planned to the point you have to miss a day, week, month or year of training.
  2. A day, week, month, or year of training in which you achieve the planned mileage, effort, or stress that was planned and able to complete the next day, week, month, and year of planned training.
  3. A day, week, month, or year of training in which you achieve less mileage, effort, or stress than planned to the point you have no adaption and no improvement.

This is where I have failed over the last several years that I have trained. I get caught up in the feel of the speed and temporary success of the training sessions. I have gotten better at it over the years as I get older, but I think the last couple of months I have really started to get it dialed in. I’ve been pushing really hard on hard planned training days and watching my output on easier days. Today was an exception to the way it has been going over the last couple of months.

 

I am always open to comments, remarks and/or suggestions. Please, comment on my blog, Facebook page or send me an email.

https://www.facebook.com/robinsoncoaching/

wayne_robinson42@aol.com

Leave a Reply

